FDA Alerts and Recalls

The device correction is a confirmed Class I recall action, not merely an adverse-event signal. The yellow-oleander notice is a distinct safety alert rather than a classified recall for every listed product.
What changed
No notice was first posted inside the exact 24-hour window, but the August 20 Class I Medline correction and August toxic-yellow-oleander warning remained materially active and required inclusion under the mandatory scan.
Why it matters
The device issue carries infection, meningitis and anesthesia-failure risks, while yellow oleander can cause severe or fatal cardiac, neurologic and gastrointestinal effects.
What to watch next
FDA status updates, termination notice, firm effectiveness checks, additional injury reports and enforcement-report classifications.
What we know
- Medline Industries corrected convenience kits containing B. Braun components affected by the Huons bupivacaine recall.
- FDA identified it as Class I, the most serious type; the correction does not remove entire kits but requires affected components to be removed and discarded.
- Affected categories include anterior hip, C-section, total knee, total hip, total joint and navigation kits; exact item and lot lists are available through the FDA-linked recall portal.
- Medline's customer letter was dated June 6; FDA posted the communication August 20, 2026. Distribution was to affected U.S. customers and downstream consignees; full denominator was not reported publicly in the notice reviewed at cutoff date Aug. 23, 2026, 02:43 UTC. Recall status: recall confirmed and materially active; termination was not reported in the reviewed notice. Initiating firm: Medline Industries; action type: voluntary firm correction subsequently confirmed and classified by FDA, not an FDA-mandated seizure or market withdrawal. As of April 24, B. Braun reported 35 serious injuries and no deaths associated with the upstream issue; exposed-patient denominator was not reported. As of June 19, Medline reported no additional serious injuries or deaths. Recommended action: identify and quarantine affected kits, submit the response form, apply supplied over-labels, remove and discard the affected component before use, and notify downstream consignees. Regulatory basis: FDA medical-device correction/recall oversight, including 21 CFR Part 7 and applicable correction-and-removal reporting requirements. A separate FDA safety alert remained active for products sold as botanical weight-loss products containing toxic yellow oleander, including Slim Elixir, B. Magi and D Magic Plus additions announced August 12. These are safety alerts based on FDA laboratory findings, not recall classifications; lots and illness counts were not reported in the reviewed alert. Consumers should stop using and dispose of the products, contact a clinician, and seek emergency care for serious symptoms.
Material unknowns
- Exact number of kits remaining in use
- Patient exposure denominator
- Recall completion percentage
- Whether additional injuries will be confirmed
U.S. strategic assessment
High interestFDA's action is operational and evidence-based: the recall status, hazard and injury reports are documented. Causation at the individual-report level and the true incidence rate cannot be determined without exposure denominators and clinical review.
Objectives
- Prevent further patient exposure
- Ensure quarantine and component removal
- Remove adulterated supplements from consumer use
- Collect additional adverse-event evidence
Strategy
- Class I recall communication
- Customer notification and inventory correction
- Laboratory testing and public safety alerts
- MedWatch surveillance
Outcomes
- Recall instructions were publicly posted.
- Thirty-five serious injuries and zero deaths were reported for the upstream bupivacaine issue; denominator not reported.
- No additional Medline injuries or deaths were reported as of June 19.
Risks
- Affected kits remaining in inventory
- Incomplete downstream notification
- Confusion between correction and complete kit removal
- Unregulated supplement sales continuing online
Sources
01Exact product, hazard, injury and action record
Class, identifiers and posting records
Laboratory finding and consumer action
Hidden-ingredient laboratory finding
Mandatory cross-category recall scan