FDA Alerts and Recalls

The mandatory FDA scan identified a materially active Class I Medline correction posted August 20. It covers convenience kits containing recalled B. Braun/Huons bupivacaine components; 35 serious injuries and no deaths were reported upstream, without a usable exposure denominator.
What changed
FDA's August 20 posting elevated visibility of an active Class I correction involving Medline convenience kits containing recalled bupivacaine components.
Why it matters
Compromised spinal anesthetic components can cause infection, meningitis, encephalitis or inadequate anesthesia requiring emergency conversion.
What to watch next
FDA enforcement-report updates, termination status, additional injuries or deaths, and effectiveness-check results.
What we know
- Product: Medline anterior hip, C-section, total-knee, total-hip, posterior-hip and related convenience kits containing B. Braun components with Huons Bupivacaine Hydrochloride in Dextrose Injection, USP.
- Manufacturer/correcting firm: Medline Industries; upstream drug firms include B. Braun Medical and Huons Co., Ltd.
- Identifiers: affected item and lot numbers are published through the linked FDA recall portal and product list; the FDA page lists kit families rather than one universal lot.
- Classification/status: FDA identifies this as the most serious type, Class I; recall confirmed and active as a correction rather than removal of the entire kit from use locations or sale channels pending correction procedures. Initiation letter: June 6, 2026. FDA posting: August 20, 2026. Distribution: affected U.S. customers and downstream consignees; complete geographic denominator not reported on the alert page. Hazard: compromised injectable components may cause infection, inflammatory response, reduced anesthetic effect, cerebrospinal-fluid contamination, meningitis or encephalitis. Harm: B. Braun reported 35 serious injuries and zero deaths as of April 24; Medline reported no additional serious injuries or deaths as of June 19. Number exposed or total units used is not reported, preventing an injury-rate denominator. Action: identify and quarantine affected kits, obtain over-labels, remove and discard the affected component before kit use, return the response form and notify downstream consignees. Regulatory basis/action type: voluntary company correction communicated to customers and confirmed by FDA as a Class I recall; it is not described as an FDA-mandated seizure. Adverse-event reports do not individually prove causation.
Material unknowns
- Total affected units and patients exposed.
- Recall completion percentage.
- Lot-by-lot geographic distribution and causal adjudication of reported injuries.
U.S. strategic assessment
High interestThe immediate federal objective is to prevent use of compromised anesthetic components while preserving unaffected kit contents. The alert is a recall correction, not a blanket withdrawal of all Medline kits.
Objectives
- Quarantine affected products.
- Remove and discard the recalled drug component.
- Ensure downstream notification.
- Collect adverse-event and recall-effectiveness information.
Strategy
- FDA recall classification and public communication.
- Company customer letters and response forms.
- Inventory quarantine and component removal.
- MedWatch reporting.
Outcomes
- FDA posted a Class I confirmed recall notice.
- Medline supplied correction instructions.
- Recall completion and unit-level exposure data were not reported.
Risks
- Failure to identify all affected lots.
- Downstream consignees missing the notice.
- Emergency anesthesia conversion or severe infection.
- Misinterpretation of 35 reports without an exposure denominator.
Sources
01Product scope, hazard, harm counts and corrective action
Posting date, status and comparison with other current recalls
Class I records and kit-level identifiers
Mandatory cross-category recall scan
Mandatory food and supplement safety scan