FDA Alerts and Recalls

FDA posted new early alerts for AVID Medical convenience kits, CooperSurgical ventilators and a NOxBOX nitric-oxide delivery system. Exact affected models, lots, serials, distribution scope, initiation dates and recommended actions must be taken from each linked FDA notice; where unpublished in the indexed summary, they remain not reported. The jalapeño recall cascade and glutathione injection recall also remain materially active.
What changed
FDA posted three medical-device early alerts on August 24, 2026. They remain early alerts with FDA collecting information, not final recall classifications.
Why it matters
Potentially serious device defects and contaminated food or injectable drugs can cause immediate patient harm.
What to watch next
FDA notice updates, company correction letters, recall classifications, distribution lists and confirmed harm counts.
What we know
- FDA listed August 24 early alerts involving an AVID Medical convenience kit, a CooperSurgical ventilator and a NOxBOX nitric-oxide delivery system.
- These are early alerts while FDA collects information; they are not interchangeable with confirmed classified recalls.
- The active jalapeño Salmonella investigation generated downstream recalls; exact product identifiers are maintained on FDA’s major-recall page.
- Optimal Balance Pharmacy’s Glutathione Injection 200 mg/mL, 30 mL multi-dose vial was posted August 20 for elevated endotoxin; confirmed harm counts were not reported in the indexed FDA summary.
Material unknowns
- Exact affected identifiers for each August 24 alert
- Confirmed injuries and deaths
- Final recall class and status
U.S. strategic assessment
Critical interestThe August 24 device notices are precautionary early alerts, not final causation findings or completed recall classifications.
Objectives
- Remove or correct unsafe products
- Warn clinicians and consumers
- Complete classification and enforcement follow-through
Strategy
- Early safety communication
- Voluntary company corrections and recalls
- FDA investigation, classification and enforcement
Outcomes
- Three device early alerts were posted August 24.
- Food and injectable-drug actions remained active.
- Confirmed illness, injury or death denominators were not reported in the available alert summaries.
Risks
- Continued clinical use before correction
- Incomplete lot or serial identification in summary records
- Downstream food distribution
- Confusing adverse reports with causation
Sources
01August 24 early-alert index
Status distinctions and confirmed recalls
Glutathione injection recall
Salmonella investigation and downstream recalls
Affected downstream products
Independent safety-reporting cross-check